top of page
Search

The Joy of the Lord - Rend Collective

scripture and prayer reflection

 

Click HERE to listen to the song on Spotify


Lyrics

Though tears may fall

My song will rise, my song will rise to You

Though my heart may fail

My song will rise, my song will rise to You

While there's breath in my lungs

I will praise You, Lord


In the dead of night

I'll lift my eyes, I'll lift my eyes to You

When the waters rise

I'll lift my eyes, I'll lift my eyes to You

While there's hope in this heart

I will praise You, Lord


The joy of the Lord is my strength

The joy of the Lord is my strength

In the darkness I'll dance

In the shadows I'll sing

The joy of the Lord is my strength


When I cannot see You with my eyes

Let faith arise to You

When I cannot feel Your hand in mine

Let faith arise to You

God of mercy and love

I will praise You, Lord


Oh You shine with glory Lord of light

I feel alive with You

In Your presence now I come alive

I am alive with You

There is strength when I say

I will praise You, Lord


The joy of the Lord is my strength

The joy of the Lord is my strength

In the darkness I'll dance

In the shadows I'll sing

The joy of the Lord is my strength


When sorrow comes my way

You are the shield around me

Always You remain

My courage in the fight

I hear You call my name

Jesus, I am coming

Walking on the waves

Reaching for Your light


The joy of the Lord is my strength

The joy of the Lord is my strength

In the darkness I'll dance

In the shadows I'll sing

The joy of the Lord is my strength


Even in the darkness

Your joy will shine, O my Lord


The joy of the Lord is my strength

The joy of the Lord is my strength

In the darkness I'll dance

In the shadows I'll sing

The joy of the Lord is my strength



Nehemiah 8:2-3, 8-12

2 So Ezra the priest brought the Law before the assembly, both men and women and all who could understand what they heard, on the first day of the seventh month. 3 And he read from it facing the square before the Water Gate from early morning until midday, in the presence of the men and the women and those who could understand. And the ears of all the people were attentive to the Book of the Law...8 They read from the book, from the Law of God, clearly, and they gave the sense, so that the people understood the reading.


9 And Nehemiah, who was the governor, and Ezra the priest and scribe, and the Levites who taught the people said to all the people, “This day is holy to the Lord your God; do not mourn or weep.” For all the people wept as they heard the words of the Law. 10 Then he said to them, “Go your way. Eat the fat and drink sweet wine and send portions to anyone who has nothing ready, for this day is holy to our Lord. And do not be grieved, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.” 11 So the Levites calmed all the people, saying, “Be quiet, for this day is holy; do not be grieved.” 12 And all the people went their way to eat and drink and to send portions and to make great rejoicing, because they had understood the words that were declared to them.


Romans 8:18, 24-25, 28

18 For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us.


24 For in this hope we were saved. Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees? 25 But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.


28 And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.



Reflection

The reason we can rejoice and hold onto hope in the midst of difficulty is that our hope is tied to something beyond this moment, and beyond ourselves.  It is God who is our hope.  It is His love, mercy, and His work on our behalf that holds us secure in trials.


When Ezra read the Law before the Jewish people, they began to weep.  The people of Judah were still newly returned to their land, and in the process of rebuilding.  As they listened to what Ezra read, they understood that they had not upheld their part in the covenant with the Lord, that that is why they had lived in exile for so many years.  Mourning could be considered the appropriate response, and yet Ezra commands them rather to rejoice, to feast, and to celebrate.


He wanted them to focus on the hope that they had in God’s mercy, rather than their own failure, to celebrate what God had done in bringing them back to the land and renewing His covenant with them.  Instead of cutting them off and abandoning them, God had continued to be faithful to their covenant even in spite of their faithlessness.  He had restored them and drawn near to them again.  He had disciplined them, yes, but out of His love.  Ezra points to the “joy of the LORD” as being the thing that would strengthen them.  He wasn’t telling them to just be happy because being happy is nice.  It was about the fact that God was still accessible to them — that they could still look to Him for strength, and take joy in His love for them, and that He was what would carry them forward.


Regardless of what circumstances we are facing — whether they have been brought on by our own sin or the sin of others, or are simply the product of living in a fallen world — there is joy waiting for us in God’s love, mercy, and faithfulness.  He has still purchased us back from death.  He is still in the business of redeeming all things.  He is still walking with us through every trial and tribulation, full of compassion and understanding.


So even though the songwriter here does not dismiss the difficulty that we face, the overall upbeat and joyful tone focuses in on the good that is ours in Christ.  So even as we — like the Israelites — feel cut to the quick by the Spirit’s conviction or are bearing a heavy weight in our hearts, we can also rejoice that all is not lost, and that in the end all of the pain and suffering and trials and tears will be made worthwhile in light of the surpassing glory awaiting us.


Take a moment to reflect on your own life.  What is going on in your life right now that is easy to rejoice with God in?  What is difficult?  Spend time sitting with what Christ has done for you, and remind your heart of what that tells you about how God feels about you.  Celebrate with Him.  If celebration feels too difficult at the moment, just be with Him.  Either way, talk with Him about what comes up.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page