top of page
Search

Provider - Rivers & Robots

scripture and prayer reflection

 

Click HERE to listen to the song on Spotify


Lyrics

Oh Lord, You lead my heart so well

You are my ever present help

You know what I need more than anyone else

Teach me to trust Your ways 'cause


Over and over again

You've shown that

Your faithfulness never ends

Over and over again

You remind me that

You have a plan for my life


I trust You

Father, You lead me so perfectly

You're always beside me, You never leave

Through every season of life

You're my provider


I know that

Even when I'm feeling lost at sea

Your mighty hand still reaches out for me

Through every season of life

You're my provider

You're my provider


You don't forget Your promises

I'm thankful for the strength You give

Lord I will praise You as long as I live

Teach me to trust Your ways 'cause


Over and over again

You've shown that

Your faithfulness never ends

Over and over again

You remind me that

You have a plan for my life


I trust You

Father, You lead me so perfectly

You're always beside me, You never leave

Through every season of life

You're my provider


I know that

Even when I'm feeling lost at sea

Your mighty hand still reaches out for me

Through every season of life

You're my provider

You're my provider

You're my provider



Lamentations 3:22-24, 31-33, 55-57

22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,

for his compassions never fail.

23 They are new every morning;

great is your faithfulness.

24 I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion;

therefore I will wait for him.”


31 For no one is cast off

by the Lord forever.

32 Though he brings grief, he will show compassion,

so great is his unfailing love.

33 For he does not willingly bring affliction

or grief to anyone.


55 I called on your name, Lord,

from the depths of the pit.

56 You heard my plea: “Do not close your ears

to my cry for relief.”

57 You came near when I called you,

and you said, “Do not fear.”


Proverbs 3:5-8, 11-12

5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart,

and do not lean on your own understanding.

6 In all your ways acknowledge him,

and he will make straight your paths.

7 Be not wise in your own eyes;

fear the Lord, and turn away from evil.

8 It will be healing to your flesh

and refreshment to your bones.


11 My son, do not despise the Lord's discipline

or be weary of his reproof,

12 for the Lord reproves him whom he loves,

as a father the son in whom he delights.



Reflection

People want all sorts of things out of life, good and bad. We often mistakenly think we know best what will satisfy our hearts, what will bring the most good in our lives. You can see this everywhere — people chase the things they think will make them happy, only to realize once they have them that it’s not enough. When one desire is met or achieved, another pops up to take its place.


For example, someone who finally has the relationship they always wanted then wants to get married, and for the relationship to be in good shape, and then to be able to have a child, and then for the child to be healthy, and to behave, and to follow Jesus, and to be successful, to get married, to have their own children who are healthy, well-behaved Jesus-followers, etc. etc. etc. While our lives can sometimes feel driven by a central desire or longing for something particular, if we step back to look at our lives objectively, we have to acknowledge that even were that desire to be met, we’d just find something else to want. Sadly, contentment is a mindset difficult to achieve and often very fleeting.


We also spend a lot of time and effort trying to escape or avoid the things we fear in life. We run away from pain, we safeguard against loss or damage, we do everything we can to control the dangerous factors of life. Our image of the ideal life often involves the absence of suffering or hardship. If there have to be challenges, we’d like them to come in carefully measured doses that are manageable and comfortable.


But the thing is, we can trust God to know what we need far better than anyone — including ourselves — and the very things we are desperately trying to avoid may be exactly what God will use to grow us. Though the growth process is painful, it may be ultimately what we truly need. Surgery may feel frightening because we don’t want to be cut open, and we’d rather not deal with the difficult recovery process that will follow. But if we’ve been shot, or there’s a cancerous tumor that needs to be removed, or one of our organs is shutting down, surgery is a necessity despite the difficulty involved. It is worth the cost, because of the end result. Sin has wreaked havoc on and in us, and God as a faithful and diligent surgeon will do what is necessary to heal us, even if it is painful and difficult. Because He loves us He can do no less.


Take some time to reflect on your own life. What is it that drives your life right now? When has it been difficult to trust God to provide what you need? What makes contentment and trust so difficult to cultivate? What would it look like to entrust yourself to God’s wisdom and care? Talk with God about what comes up.

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page