top of page
Search

House of God, Forever - Jon Foreman

scripture and prayer reflection

 

Click HERE to listen to the song on Spotify


Lyrics

God is my shepherd

I won't be wanting

I won't be wanting

He makes me rest

In fields of green

With quiet streams


Even though I walk

Through the valley

Of death and dying

I will not fear

Cause you are with me

You are with me


Your shepherd's staff

Comforts me

You are my feast

In the presence of enemies

Surely goodness

Will follow me

Follow me

In the house of God forever


God is my shepherd

I won't be wanting

I won't be wanting

He makes me rest

In fields of green

By quiet streams


Even while I’m walking

Through the valley

Of death and dying

I will not fear

Cause you are with me

You’re always with me


Your shepherd's staff

Comforts me

You are my feast

In the presence of enemies

Surely goodness

Will follow me

Follow me

In the house of God forever

In the house of God forever

In the house of God forever



Psalm 23:1-6

1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

2 He makes me lie down in green pastures.

He leads me beside still waters.

3 He restores my soul.

He leads me in paths of righteousness

for his name's sake.

4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

I will fear no evil,

for you are with me;

your rod and your staff,

they comfort me.

5 You prepare a table before me

in the presence of my enemies;

you anoint my head with oil;

my cup overflows.

6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me

all the days of my life,

and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord

forever.



Reflection

Psalm 23 is a go-to for many, having brought comfort and strength to innumerable people over the millennia. What is it about this psalm that so speaks to our hearts? Is it the imagery of our good Shepherd and His care for us? The promise of His presence with us through even the darkest and most dangerous of times? The abundance of life that is described?


Lying at the core of this psalm is a centered trust and dependence based on the security we have in God — trust in and dependence on Him for His provision, guidance, accessibility in His close presence with us, protection, and blessing. I think one of the many reasons why so many turn to this psalm for comfort is that in it we receive a crystal clear picture of what trust and dependence built on real security look like. There is a turning of the heart toward God as Shepherd, waiting for His instruction, looking to Him for safety, trusting that He will care for our needs whatever they may be. As we meditate on these words and lean into them, the image of trust reflected in this psalm centers us, cultivating a similar trust and dependence in our own hearts. Our souls learn to trace David’s words in our own experiences, orienting our hope to God as our surety, our security. No matter what happens, we cannot be taken out of his love. We are ultimately secure and unshakable.


Take some time to reflect on your own life. Where do you long to grow in trust with God? Where are you prone to depend on other things rather than God? What would help your heart to reorient to Him for those needs? Is there anything right now that you need to entrust to Him? Find a quiet place to sit in stillness and listen to the words of the psalm sung, seeking to enter into the trust and dependence at the core of the words. Talk with God about what comes up.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page